RELEASE DAY REVIEW by Lorna: Summer of Supernovas by Darcy Woods (@woodswrite , @MollyKatie112)

Summer of SupernovasFans of Jennifer E. Smith and Jenny Han will fall in love with this heartfelt and humor-laced debut following one girl’s race to find the guy of her cosmic dreams.

When zodiac-obsessed teen Wilamena Carlisle discovers a planetary alignment that won’t repeat for a decade, she’s forced to tackle her greatest astrological fear: The Fifth House—relationships and love.

But when Wil falls for a sensitive guitar player hailing from the wrong side of the astrology chart, she must decide whether a cosmically doomed love is worth rejecting her dead mother’s legacy and the very system she’s faithfully followed through a lifetime of unfailing belief.

 

 

RELEASED TODAY!

amazon-button

KEEP READING FOR MORE INFO ABOUT THE BOOK
AND TO READ LORNA’S REVIEW!

 

Summer of Supernovas
by Darcy Woods

Series
n/a; standalone

Genre
Young Adult
Contemporary Romance

Publisher
Crown Books for Young Readers

Publication Date
May 10, 2016

df2b8-goodreads-button amazon-button

Whoa! Just got through looking up this author and found out that this is her debut book. I am flummoxed to say the least. This was so well written that I stayed up until close to 7 am this morning, because I couldn’t put it down. It’s one of those books that you want everyone you know to read. I have Ali at My Guilty Obsession to thank for recommending this book to me.

This started out with the main character, Wil, in a unique situation-one that I sure haven’t read before. During the situation, she meets Grant, and has an immediate attraction to him. It was a fun beginning to this story that kept surprising me. Speaking of unique, Wil was one of the most unique female characters I have read about it a long time. She’s seventeen, about to be a senior in high school, and her style is a throwback to the forties-both in clothes and hairstyle. Before her mother died when she was six, she taught her daughter all about astrology and scared Wil off Pisces people as a romantic match forever. According to all the study she does of horoscopes, she thinks she needs to find her perfect match, a Sagittarian, before the month is over. To that end, her best friend, Irina, and Wil, go to a night club to try and find Wil’s perfect match. It doesn’t hurt that Grant plays in the band at the club-and the club itself belongs to a member of his family. While there she meets Seth, a handsome guy her own age, and a Sagittarius.

For the first time since I read the Twilight series(don’t judge), I completely enjoyed a read that features a love triangle. This was a pretty major one for reasons I won’t mention. But still, it was so well done that I really didn’t think anything about it being a love triangle, until I finished the book. Just one of those surprises in this story.

Characters in this book were so well realized by the author, I felt like I knew them or wanted to meet them. I actually liked Grant and Seth, although I did have a favorite. Irina was quite the character, as well. Not just a sidekick, she’s Russian, pierces people for a living, and is pretty much a blonde bombshell-one with an attitude. She’s a couple of years older than Wil, and that doesn’t make a bit of difference. She’s the quintessential best friend any girl would love to have, as long as body piercing doesn’t bother them. Gram is Wil’s grandmother and the person that raised her. She’s a baker by profession and her cupcakes were present throughout the read. She too, has a big personality and some big secrets, as well.

The astrology(and astronomy) back story, the unique way she meets one of her love interests, Wil’s quirky personality and style, a really good romance, and all the peripheral characters, all helped make this the surprising and unique read that it is. I am not really a fan of the cover, in fact, if I hadn’t heard how good this book was, I probably wouldn’t have looked at it twice. But I did, and I am extremely glad I did. I highly recommend this to YA readers 15+ up to, and including adults.

amazon-button

Lorna Finished

The review copy of this book was provided by the publisher in exchange for a fair and honest review.

 

About Darcy Woods

Darcy WoodsYoung adult author Darcy Woods had three big loves in grade school: Reading, writing, and pizza day. Some things never change. She lives in Michigan with her madly supportive husband, two tuxedo cats (who overdress for everything) and a closet full of neatly organized shoes. SUMMER OF SUPERNOVAS is her Golden Heart-winning debut novel.

Author Links

website twitter goodreads Amazon icon

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “RELEASE DAY REVIEW by Lorna: Summer of Supernovas by Darcy Woods (@woodswrite , @MollyKatie112)

  1. Wow Lorna! I think I’ll have to check this one out! It’s interesting to see there’s a love triangle… and I want to know more! I like that Wil has her own style! I need to meet Grant and Seth!

    1. I just really enjoyed the whole thing. I thought the main character was so unique and just really had fun reading it. It might still be on Net Galley-not sure 🙂

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s